Daily Prompt: Discover

via Daily Prompt: Discover

In my books, the trilogy Visions of Blue, https://www.amazon.com/Inia-Jardine , I sometimes refer to poetry and songs which mean a lot to me – woven into my characters lives – I also include links to same at the end of the books as a tribute to the artists, encouraging people to purchase their art. As you are not legally allowed to quote a full song or poem in a book without permission from the authors, and most of my favourite authors/artists have departed from this earth, I use this way to prompt readers to go and discover for themselves after, or while reading my books. Although my books are aimed at the older age group, no under 17 allowed, younger people may never know about some amazing art of the heart and imaginations of so many great artists – and that is so sad. Older music and older poetry have such immense value.

My favourite poet of all time must be Rod McKuen, rod-site

well him and the late great Leonard Cohen.rememberleon

I grew up with the song Seasons in the Sun by Terry Jacks and never knew that Rod McKuen actually translated and modified it from the original Jaques Brel poem until I read his poetry volume by the same name. My ex husband introduced me to his work. In his poem Cycle, he speaks about only lonely people having true freedom as love ensnares. cycle

That is so true. Being lonely is really sad but it does free you up to go wherever you want and do whatever you want to do. In the poem Butterfly also taken from his book Alone (1975) which is one of my most treasured possessions, he is somehow in my head.

Being able to truly feel things profoundly, or having been deeply hurt, can obviously make you a great artist.

“It doesn’t matter who you love, or how you love, but that you love” – Rod McKuen

butterflies

https://www.leonardcohen.com/                                 http://www.rodmckuen.org/index.htm

Even though I absolutely love Seal and some other contemporary artists, my favourite music will always be the sounds of Goombay Dance Band which make me happy when feeling down, Boney M, Smokie, Neil Diamond, Pussycat (Toni Wille with the amazing voice not the ‘dolls’…), Jose Feliciano, Cat Stevens, Albert Hammond, Leo Sayer, Bread, The Bee Gees, ABBA, Queen, Santana, Barry White…Earth Wind & Fire, Cool and the Gang, oh the disco era! so much fun. And even The Carpenters and Barry Manilow…yes I’m not ashamed, I love their music. The Sound of Silence by Disturbed, the song old but artists very modern, is most probably the best version of this magic song ever – although I love Simon and Garfunkel. Homeless which was done by Paul Simon together with Ladysmith Black Mambazo, well, amazing…https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JFQ1TSzdpRA

Discover all of these for yourself, it’s so easy with YouTube nowadays. I will never forget how I longed and saved to buy the seven single of Dancing in the City by Marshall Hain, my first record ever. Go and have a listen, and see what a seven single looked like. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aY7tPPsi5nY. I danced the nights away to this type of music between 1981 and 1991, my dancing years – the best of my life.

An ex boyfriend, nine years younger than me, could never understand my fascination with older music. That is why you should always aim for someone who loves and understands the things you love and understand – to share your life. BUT. Never be afraid to discover!! You may find something amazing out of your normal frame of reference.

Oh, and by the way, if you need to laugh out loud at really clever humour, discover Gary Larson cartoon books in bookshops or on e-bay. The Far Side. They are awesome!! He does not allow his work online but it is so worth buying his whole collection. I did…

http://www.thefarside.com/       gary-larson

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Discover

Leave a Reply

